Thursday, June 24, 2010


Starting Line for change: Nation to Join MILO® Marathon for a Cause
Country’s longest-running marathon to donate shoes to public school children

Kicking off its 34th season this July, the National MILO® Marathon sets its sights on an advocacy to inspire public school children to excel in sports by providing rubber shoes for deserving public school students across the country. In line with this goal, MILO® is inviting 200,000 runners to take the first step at furthering the cause by joining its racing events.

A portion of the registration fee of the National MILO® Marathon participants will be allocated to the advocacy and in return, MILO® will donate the equivalent amount raised to add to the production of the running shoes. The event aims to raise 4,000 pairs of rubber shoes which will be donated to student beneficiaries who excel in sports and have balanced academic standing.

The inspiration behind the advocacy comes from previous MILO® Marathon events in which a number of children participate in the marathon even without shoes. MILO® Sports Events Executive, Pat Goc-ong shares “MILO® is committed to helping more children realize their potential. It knows the importance of developing one’s talent and wishes to give these kids an opportunity to shine and achieve something for themselves.”

The National MILO® Marathon experience is also made exciting with additional innovations this year. First, a more competitive qualifying time per age group category has been introduced for 42K Manila eliminations and 21K Provincial Eliminations. Secondly, state of the art timing chips, MyLaps will be given to 10K, 21K and 42K marathoners. Lastly, over 6 Million in total cash prizes will be given away to individual race winners and the fastest male and female champions, MILO® Marathon King and Queen stand a chance to win a Php 300,000 cash prize.

The 34th National MILO® Marathon will be rolling out 17 elimination races across Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao and will be kicking off its Manila eliminations on July 4 at the Roxas Boulevard. The National MILO® Marathon will then go to major cities: Dagupan City (July 11), Baguio City (July 18), General Santos City (July 25), Davao City (August 29), Cebu City (September 5), Tagbilaran City (September 12), Dumaguete City (September 19), Iloilo City (September 26), Naga City (October 3), San Pablo City (October 10), Batangas City (October 17), Puerto Princesa (October 31), Tarlac City (November 7), Olongapo City (November 14), Butuan City (November 21) and Cagayan de Oro City (November 28). The grand National Finals will be held in Manila on December 12.

For more information. Please visit 

No comments:

Post a Comment